Poets of the New Century – SAVE 50%!

Emphasizing young and mid-career poets, with the usual smattering of acknowledged veterans, this impressive collection of almost 500 pages contains both new and previously published work of what can honestly be termed “the best and the brightest” of a new generation of poets. In addition to a minimum of three poems by each writer, the anthology also includes brief biographical sketches as well as bibliographical information and sources.

Innovative, unified by the vision of the editors, and unashamedly provocative, this is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in the current and future trends of American verse.

Featured authors:
Ralph Angel · Linda Bierds · Marcus Cafagña · Mark Cox · Craig Christ-Evans Toi Derricotte · Mark Doty · Lynn Emmanuel · Albert Goldbarth · Beckian Fritz Goldberg Joy Harjo · Jeffrey Harrison · Brenda Hillman · Edward Hirsch · David Huddle Mark Jarman · Brigit Kelly · Timothy Liu · Lynne McMahon · Naomi Shihab Nye Robert Pinsky · Alberto Rios · Ira Sadoff · Maura Stanton · Richard Tillinghast Chase Twichell · Martha Modena Vertreace · David Wojahn

Roger Weingarten has published ten poetry collections and co-edited seven anthologies. He was involved in the establishment of the MFA in Writing and the Postgraduate Writers’ Conference at Vermont College and taught there from 1980 to 2008. He has also taught at many other colleges, universities, and writers’ conferences around the country. He has received numerous awards for his poetry, including a Pushcart Prize, a Louisville Review Poetry Prize, a National Endowment for the Arts Award, and an Ingram Merill Foundation Award in Literature.

Jack Myers was born in Lynn, Massachusetts and educated at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. After finishing his MFA at Iowa, Myers moved to Dallas to take a position at the Southern Methodist University, where he would remain, with hiatuses to teach at other schools, for over thirty years. In 2003, he was made Texas Poet Laureate in honor of his accomplishments and commitment to helping aspiring poets. His third wife, Thea Temple, continues to run The Writer’s Garret, a nonprofit writing community that the couple founded in Dallas.