Black Sparrow Press

Imprint: Black Sparrow Press

Black Sparrow Press was founded in Los Angeles in 1966 by John and Barbara Martin, and run by them until 2002. The revered independent press is home to vital poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.

Today, the imprint both celebrates its legendary longtime authors such as Lucia Berlin, Wanda Coleman, Charles Reznikoff, and Diane Wakoski, and introduces readers to important contemporary authors, such as Susan Barba, Richard Buckner, Dan Fante, Nina MacLaughlin, and Kerrin McCadden.