Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Big Six

The Big Six

Swallows & Amazons Book 9

by Arthur Ransome

Part of: Swallows and Amazons

Regular price $15.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Product Details


ISBN: 978-1-56792-119-9
Pages: 368
Size: 5.5" x 8"
Published: February 2005
View full details

There’s a crime wave on the lake! All evidence points to three boatbuilders’ sons. They claim to be innocent but, as accusations mount, their families’ livelihood is threatened. It’s up to the three boys, and three other members of the Coot Club Bird Protection Society, to solve the mystery and clear their name.

Joe, Bill, and Pete live to sail in the Norfolk Broads but now they are under suspicion of setting boats adrift and stealing from ship builders. When the Ds (Dorothea and Dick) arrive, hoping to enjoy a holiday with their friends of the Coot Club, it seems to them that a plot is afoot. Someone is trying to drive Joe, Bill, and Pete away in disgrace for crimes they didn’t commit.

Friendship and resourcefulness, dangers and excitement: Arthur Ransome’s Swallows and Amazons series has stood the test of time. More than just great stories, each one celebrates independence and initiative with a colorful, large cast of characters. The Big Six (originally published in 1940) is the ninth title in the Swallows and Amazons series, books for children or grownups, anyone captivated by a world of adventure, exploration, and imagination.

Arthur Ransome
Arthur Ransome was an English author and journalist. He is best known for writing the Swallows and Amazons series of children's books about the school-holiday adventures of children, mostly in the Lake District and the Norfolk Broads. Many of the books involve sailing; fishing and camping are other common subjects. The books remain popular and Swallows and Amazons is the basis for a tourist industry around Windermere and Coniston Water, the two lakes Ransome adapted as his fictional North Country lake.