Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Cross Country Runner

The Cross Country Runner

Collected Short Stories & Novellas: Volume 3

by Andre Dubus
Introduction by Tobias Wolff

Regular price $18.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $18.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Product Details


ISBN: 978-1-56792-627-9
Pages: 400
Size: 5.5 x 8.5 inches
Published: September 2018
View full details

See the complete collection at $36.95 of the three-volume Andre Dubus Collected Short Stories and Novellas.

  The Cross Country Runner brings together Andre Dubus’s fifth collection of short stories and novellas, The Last Worthless Evening, and Voices from the Moonhis longest, most masterful novella—with previously uncollected stories, and a new introduction by PEN Faulkner Award-winning author Tobias Wolff. “It’s divorce that did it,” his father had said last night. So begins Voices from the Moon, the 126-page novella that shows Dubus at the height of his empathetic powers: the story alternates between the viewpoints of Richie Stowe, a serious twelve-year-old who plans to become a priest, and the five other members of his family; it takes place over the course of a single day. The four novellas and two stories of The Last Worthless Evening range further than in any previous Dubus collection: racial tension in the Navy; a detective story homage; a Hispanic shortstop; the unlikely pairing of an eleven-year-old kid and a dangerous Vietnam vet. Finally, this third volume in the series draws together for the first time many of Dubus’s previously uncollected stories, including work from the mid-1960s and the late 1990s. The earliest story appearing here in book form for the first time—“The Cross Country Runner”—was first published in the long-defunct Midwestern University Quarterly in 1966 when Dubus was 30 years old and only recently graduated from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. The final story—the western-themed “Sisters”—is the last piece of fiction Dubus was working on when he died suddenly in 1999 at just 63 years old.

Dubus’ frank and inquisitive stories of conscience are incisively of their time and ours. —Booklist Starred Review

A welcome gathering in a worthy project to bring Dubus' work to a new generation of readers. —Kirkus Reviews

[The] three volumes reaffirm Dubus’s status as master ... [as] unparalleled excavator of the heart and its pains, its longings, its errors, its thumping against the constant threat of grief, despair, and loneliness. —Nina MacLaughlin, The Paris Review

...the language of [Dubus's] stories is at the service of something outside itself ... often we forget we are reading sentences but are put rather into more direct connection with the character’s thoughts and feelings. —William Pritchard, The Boston Globe

How rare it is these days to encounter characters with wills, with a sense of choice. —John Updike on Voices from the Moon, New Yorker "Rose," by itself, is worth the price of the book; it is the most powerful entry in Dubus's impressive canon. —Time on The Last Worthless Evening


Andre Dubus
Andre Dubus was born in Lake Charles, Louisiana to a Cajun-Irish Catholic family. He graduated from the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, and later settled in Massachusetts, where he lived for the rest of his life. Winner of the prestigious PEN/Malamud and Rea awards, and a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, Dubus is widely regarded as a modern master of the American short story. “Dubus conjured up some of the most perfectly calibrated, not to mention perspicacious sentences in the English language. His writing can make your heart swell and shrivel at one and the same time.” —The Times (London)

Author: Tobias Wolff
Tobias Wolff is an American fiction writer and memoirist. He served in the military as a paratrooper during the Vietnam War before attending the University of Oxford and Stanford University, as well teaching at Syracuse University from 1980-1997. In 1985, he was the recipient of the PEN/Faulkner Award for his novella, The Barracks Thief (1984). Among his other well known works are In Pharaoh’s Army (1994) and This Boy’s Life (1989). Wolff also received the PEN/Malamud Award in 2006 and the National Medal of the Arts in 2015.