Skip to product information
1 of 1

Lark Rise to Candleford

Lark Rise to Candleford

A trilogy by Flora Thompson
Introduction by H.J. Massingham
Wood engravings by Julie Neild

Regular price $21.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $21.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Product Details


ISBN: 978-1-56792-363-6
Pages: 576
Size: 5.5" x 8.4"
Published: October 2008
View full details

“Flora Thompson’s great memoir of her Oxfordshire girlhood. The richness of the language, the lingering over detail and incident creates a haunting classic.”—The New York Times

The quintessential distillation of English country life at the turn of the twentieth century, this is the story of three closely-related Oxfordshire communities – a hamlet, a village, and a town – and the memorable cast of characters who people them.

Based on her own experiences as a child and young woman, it is a story keenly observed and beautifully told across the three books of Lark Rise to Candleford trilogy: Lark Rise (1939), Over to Candleford (1941), and Candleford Green (1943). These three books are published together in this one elegant volume, complete with charming wood engravings.

Our literature has no finer remembrancer . . . no observer so genuinely endearing. –John Fowles, New Statesman Flora Thompson's great memoir of her Oxfordshire girlhood [is] a model of the form. The richness of the language, the lingering over detail and incident creates a haunting classic.
The New York Times
Flora Thompson
Flora Thompson wrote fictionalized, if autobiographical, stories of rural English life in the late 19th and early 20th century that are now considered classics.

Author: H.J. Massingham
H. J. Massingham was one of England's most prolific authors on one of England's favorite topics: English country life. His work has attracted newfound attention in recent years due to his early promotion of now-accepted topics such as organic farming and Social Credit.

Julie Neild